Normally I don’t do political posts. I don’t like how people react. Sure, I can be a crass individual myself, and I pretty much think people are inherently self serving and suck, but at the same time I want to think that people are good. That they’ll do what’s good for themselves as well as those around them. I want to think that people will go out and donate items or service to charities, or local homeless or women’s shelters, volunteer at hospitals and soup kitchens, and do good. 

But when people start talking politics, that tiny hope that I have goes completely and utterly kapoof.

So we all know the elections have come and gone in the US. Thank whatever deity you believe in because that was an utter disaster. I know I am young, but I have never seen such a vile, evil, gossip filled nightmare like the last few years of this political campaigning and debate have gone on. I am so happy that it’s finally over.

I don’t want to talk about my feelings for Trump. It does not matter anymore what I think of him. He will now be our president. Fear aside, I still have to hope that my inherent belief that people are self serving and bad is wrong. Since he will now be leading our country, I have  to hope he has some good in him. I have to hope he will do the right thing. I have no choice. I cannot in good faith want him to fail. To fail would bring ruin to the country. I have to hope he is a good, just, and successful president.

I have hope that most of what he brashly belted out was an act. After all, he was a crass reality TV Star. I hope he was just being over the top, being what the people were begging him to be (and if you read up on it, it does make sense to think this way).

He does not take office until January. No changes will happen within the next few months. No changes will immediately happen in January. There is time for him to calm down, to look inside and see the good within himself and share it with the country. Maybe then we will have  hope.

I know, it’s probably a lot to ask for. But, I leave you readers with this:

To those whose candidate won: Instead of spreading fear and hate because your candidate won, take a look inward. Be respectful. Be kind. People are afraid of what could happen to their loved ones because of the rhetoric Trump has brought up within our country. People are scared to be themselves, to love who they love, to believe in their gods, for fear of being deported, being hurt, being killed even. Don’t make it worse for them. Don’t spread hate, for you are proving them right that someone like you, who voted for this person to win, can only be a bigot, a racist, a sexist, and can do nothing but hate. They fear you for that. Don’t prove their fears right. We are all Americans. Show them you are still with them. Show them that even though they are afraid, they don’t have to fear you. Take some good, some hope, and be the light.

For those who feel like the country is lost because of who won: have faith. I don’t care what deity you believe in, or if you don’t believe in any. Even if the only thing you believe in is yourself, look to that belief. Find inner peace. You cannot change those around you through hate. If you scream and yell at them, you prove them right. You prove to them what they think of you: that you are immature, you don’t know what’s good for you, that you are violent and should not be taken seriously. Do not prove them right. Show them your kindness, your civility. Show them that you are a person to be taken seriously. Gather as communities and do good. Share the good, the hope, and the love.

Basically, whoever you voted for, remember two things.

We are all Americans. We are in this together. There is no going back, no changing what happened. We need to find common ground and come together to make everyone’s lives better. We need to take care of each other. We have to find some middle ground to keep this country from falling apart. We owe it to our future generations.

And finally, be the good. Be the peace. Be the light. See the wrongdoing and the darkness around you and stand up. Stand up for your scared neighbors, family, friends, and even strangers. Show them that there is someone who will be there for them, who will stand up for them. Share that goodness within you. If someone around you needs some good, some light, some peace, be that peace. Shine the light you have on others, and help them feel good, feel safe, and feel at peace.

And maybe, just maybe, we can bring enough good into this world to make a difference. To show everyone that we as Americans can be good.

