Hello again!

I said I would be back in a few days to talk about my new journey, and here I am!

What is this awesome lifestyle Julie is trying out? Well, Zero Waste!

Well, what exactly is zero waste? It’s a lifestyle where you say no to plastic and one time use items in the hopes of reducing the amount of waste you send to landfills. Things you try not to use are things like plastic straws, paper towels, plastic baggies, plastic packaging, and many, many more items.

There are 5 pillars to Zero Waste to keep in mind:

  1. Refuse what you do not need
  2. Reduce what you have
  3. Reuse what you can
  4. Recycle what can be recyled
  5. Rot (compost) the rest

When I looked at it this way, it made sense to me. It’s not about going out and buying the latest, greatest items that are “zero waste”. It’s about using what you have and doing what you can to produce less waste. So awesome. Plus, so much that I already have and do fits with this lifestyle. Win for me!

So, I will be keeping you in the loop on my exploits with this lovely lifestyle. But, like I said, many things I already do, so it makes it easier for me. Some of the already zero waste things I have are:

  • Mason jars
  • Stainless steel reusable straws
  • Reusable water bottles
  • Reusable coffee cups
  • Reusable grocery bags
  • Lunchboxes
  • Reusable food containers


Some of the things I do are:

  • Buy in bulk
  • Purchase from local farmer’s markets
  • Make my own shampoos, lotions, and deodorant
  • Make my own non-dairy “mylks”
  • Buy soaps with recyclable packaging


There were other things I decided I could easily add. Like, for instance, I needed a new toothbrush and toothpaste, so I purchased a bamboo toothbrush (which will biodegrade) and an all natural toothpaste which has recyclable packaging. Plus, the toothpaste has only 5 ingredients and I’m loving it so far.


I also set up my recycling bins and am actually using them! Hooray! Plus, my apartment complex has recycling, and it’s so easy to use. They only take paper and plastic, but that’s still more than I was recycling before, and that’s the whole point of Zero Waste.

I also started using less paper towels, using cotton and microfiber towels instead. I have found that was one of the easiest things I have done, and I totally notice how many fewer paper towels I use now. Probably the easiest to get used to after things like the reusable grocery bags, straws, and water bottles. Just have to remember to grab them instead of their one time use counterparts!

I would love to go on and on, but I’ll save that for another post. I will keep you guys in the loop on my journey as it progresses, what works and doesn’t, great recipes and DIYs I find, and other parts of my life as well.
Some of my favorite bloggers and vloggers who are into zero waste and are absolutely fantastic are:

I’ll leave you here for now. I’ll check back in soon!

Until next time!

